19 of 40 – Cheesy goodness

“OK, anyone got any ideas for New Things to try?”

“Make cheese.”

“Make cheese?!”

“Yup, it’s easy.”

“Uh, I don’t think so.  I mean, I’ve SEEN dairies and all the complicated equipment they have in them.”

Anyway, a few weeks ago it was my birthday. (Yes, if you are paying attention, I should really change my user name…) And through the post came a big, exciting box. With my name on it. A few days *before* my birthday. So, I waited.

Then, on the appropriate day, I opened it. Oooh. Intriguing. Loads of bubble wrap round a bottle, some plastic basket thingies, a digital thermometer and a book: Making Soft Cheese.  And you know something?  It didn’t look difficult after all.  In fact, I got quite excited about it.

So, I took it as a hint, a nudge, and general encouragement!

I also took my birthday money and headed off to Lakeland, to buy myself a Maslin Pan. You know something, I had NEVER heard of one of those before. Ever. USED one, on the other hand? Loads of times, making jam with my mum! Just never knew it had a proper name. Anyway, digressing…

So, I got all the bits together, bought a two litre container of milk, waited for a free evening. Threw away the milk that had, by now, gone off, and bought some more.

The thing that took the longest time was making sure everything was scrubbed clean before I started. If I had a dishwasher, I would have lobbed everything in it and considered it sterlised. I don’t, so I couldn’t.

But then, once I actually started?

Wheeee!!!

Heat 2 litres of milk to 95 degrees. Turn the heat off. Tip in 100ml white wine vinegar. Very quick stir. Leave it alone. Watch curds separate and leave clear whey behind. Ooooh. Magic!!

Image

Scoop out curds. Chase curds round the pan. Try and sieve them out. Drain through a muslin cloth for an hour. IMAG0972Scoop into plastic mould basket thingie. Press down lightly. Leave for an hour.

Ta-dah!! Haloumi!!

IMAG0976

I achieved CHEESE!!!

About Not quite 40

Mother of 1, wife for 15 years, coming up to 40 and wanting to do something different. Not sure what, then realised it didn't actually matter. As long as I do *something* new, it's going to be Good!
Aside | This entry was posted in New thing. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 19 of 40 – Cheesy goodness

    • Not quite 40 says:

      Yes, it really was! I was amazed at how it just *happened.* Really, the difficult bit was cleaning everything to start with, and if I had a dishwasher it would be so ridiculously easy. I can’t wait to try another cheese recipe from the book.

  1. Not quite 40 says:

    Do not make an excuse, make cheese! Do you have a stainless steel pan and a digital thermometer? If so, get some muslin for the draining and make some haloumi. All you need is milk (ideally non-homogenised, I got mine in the supermarket so no big deal) and either white wine vinegar or cider vinegar. Plus some kind of mould with holes in – I had a special one, but I bet you already have something that would do the job. Or ram holes into a well washed plastic pot headed for recycling!

  2. Anne B says:

    🙂 glad you liked it. Did you use homogenised milk or source some non-homogenised? I discovered Waitrose sell Duchy at waitrose milk which is infact non-homogenised, but have not yet tried with a more bog standardly available milk… quite apart from the fact my fridge has gone kaput.

    • Not quite 40 says:

      Thank you, yes, it was fantastic 🙂 I used non-homogenised, a local Welsh milk that I got in 2l containers from Sainsburys. Can’t remember what brand/farm it was now, but it worked. As far as I remember, the book said you *could* use homogenised but suggested you added cream to it for some of the cheeses. So, what cheese did you try making, as I gather from your comment that you *have* tried…

  3. Pingback: 28 of 40 – Winning isn’t everything | 40inmy40th

Leave a Reply

