Does this count as a New Thing?!

Does this count as a New Thing?!

I am feeling really chuffed and honoured that someone has come read my blog, then liked it enough to pass on an award – with very nice comments indeed. Thank you http://crankycaregiver.wordpress.com/2013/03/18/sisterhood-of-the-world-bloggers-award/comment-page-1/#comment-857

So, what is the award? And, more to the point, what do I have to do? Will I need a sparkly frock and a limo?

Apparently not…

Post seven things about myself? OK, I can do that.

1. I don’t like slimy food. Salmon mousse makes me heave and aubergine is disgusting. Slippery is fine (jelly, aka jello, is delicious) and mushy is OK; but slimy? Ick. The weird thing is I didn’t realise the connection between the foods I just couldn’t face eating until I was in my twenties. I was in the kitchen with my flatmate when I suddenly realised and announced this astounding fact, to be met with a blank look and a “Well, *I* knew that.”

2. I love reading. I love really well crafted books, but I read for escapism so I read far more ‘fluff’ than anything else. No ‘high literature’ for me. (But I like to pretend – to myself as much as anyone – that I don’t.)

3. I like surprising people. Perhaps that is why I have picked some of the New Things that I have already done – because they aren’t what I think others would think I would do. I’m probably wrong in what they think.

4. I love baking. I love cake. And baking cake is the least useful activity in the world, because noone ever NEEDS cake like they need breakfast, or a healthy dinner, or the washing hanging out. And that is why I bake cake.

5. I am lazy. And unfit. I get away with it because I am slim, but I know, deep down, that doing more active things would be a Good Thing. I just can’t be bothered, even though I enjoy it when I start.

6. I love hanging washing on the line outside. Living where I do, the weather is not reliable, so being able to hang the washing out means the weather is nice. But more than that, hanging washing out means I actually go out into the garden and enjoy the sunshine. Twice. And then folding the scent of the garden into the washing before bringing it in. Bliss.

7. I care deeply. My heart overflows for my friends. But I am not always very good at keeping in touch, and I sometimes worry about saying the wrong thing. But I have learned that heartfelt truth is better than heartbound fear.

And pass the love on to seven other blogs? Um. I only have nine followers on WordPress and follow only a few more than that – many of whom are men! More than that, most of them were found through awards like this so I don’t want to inundate them.

However, there are more places than WordPress, so here are some I like and would like to share. I don’t know how many of them, if any, would want to ‘accept’ the award, but I like their writing and hope they will…

http://kylecassidy.livejournal.com/ – fabulous photos and a slice of life in art. Plus Roswell, the cat.

http://whafford.livejournal.com/ – making archeology incredibly fascinating.

http://www.onecraftymother.com/ – a mother, a jewellery artist, an alcoholic in recovery and cancer survivor. Speaking heartfelt truth.

http://www.hereinthelovelywoods.com/ – adventures in homeschooling

http://www.dirtysexyministry.blogspot.co.uk/ – Two priests, with a feminine outlook on the world. After all, celebrating the Eucharist with a slipping bra strap adds perspective.

I am sure there are lovely lovely WordPress blogs, but I am not going to single any out (right now, at least) just to make the numbers up to 7. Feel free to bring any to my attention!!

About Not quite 40

Mother of 1, wife for 15 years, coming up to 40 and wanting to do something different. Not sure what, then realised it didn't actually matter. As long as I do *something* new, it's going to be Good!
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Does this count as a New Thing?!

  1. I just knew that I was doing something right when I chose you! I love your writing and your outlook on life! Don’t worry, your followers will multiply once your posts keep coming. I have gathered over 300 Friends (I don’t really consider them followers) in under two months. Write it and they will come! (Sorry, but I love the movie “Field of Dreams” and when I can quote from it..I do. Plus, Kevin Costner is such a hottie..almost as good as my Johnny Depp!)

    • Not quite 40 says:

      Aww, thank you so much. That means a lot to me. I am not worrying about my readership, as I have been only writing a month and have already had people (like you!) come on by, but I appreciate the reassurance.

  2. I’m so glad I found your blog. I love it !

Leave a Reply

