10 of 40 – keeping it under wraps. Or not.

Sleepless nights. Heart racing. Dilemma. Anxiety.

Hmm, wasn’t this supposed to be fun? And it is all my choice, too, so there is nothing that I have to do. So why was I putting myself through this? I don’t know. I told a couple of people what I was planning and once the shock had gone, the question was asked: “What do you want to achieve from doing this?”

And I still don’t know.  But, to be honest, I have no end Outcome planned for this whole initiative. Perhaps it is all about just Trying New Things, finding out what I can do, what I like (or don’t), breaking out of the rut by just doing something – anything.

So, number 10.

I turned up, met up with my contact and said hi to a couple of people passing through the venue.  All the time not being sure if I would go through with it. Or rather, I thought that I would (because I am stubborn, mainly) but not sure how I would feel.

Vulnerable? Scared?  Embarrassed? Excitement and terror flip-flopped their way through my heart.

I changed into a lightweight dressing gown, stood between two heaters…and dropped the gown.  Don’t look at anyone, look at my toes, hold the pose.  Two minutes later, gown back on – someone else’s turn.  Two minutes later, though, it’s back to me.  Pick an easier pose, so the weight is more evenly distributed…

Have a look at the end results. Comment on the (inexperienced) artist’s work, show how he can measure the lines of the model and capture them on paper.  Encourage him on the centre lines he has caught well.  Ask what he finds easiest/most difficult to draw – apparently legs are tough for him, and even if there are two models in a pose, he just concentrates on one of them.  The other model decides to challenge him – so he can’t avoid legs, and he can’t draw just one model…

 IMAG0786

Chat about “What is Art, and who defines it?”, divorce courts in this country, and whether or not I am going to set fire to my foot with the strength of the industrial heater.  Strike angular poses and have the other model pointing out lines on me to help the newbies.

Have fun.

Watch one of the guys sketching as I pose: “Don’t watch what I’m drawing!  The model isn’t supposed to watch – it’s embarrassing.”

The irony of that only dawned on me the next day!  Would I do it again? Yes.  Definitely – I had a complete blast.  Does my heart flip flop in my chest again at the thought?  Yes, definitely! 

What have I got out of it? Fun, a chance to channel my old life drawing instructor and help a newbie, a challenge.  Not sure what else.  There must be something, I am sure.

Let the people know that I had done it, and showed the picture (of the drawing.)  Showed another who was with us – “You know, I’ve always fancied doing that.”

Who knew?!

About Not quite 40

Mother of 1, wife for 15 years, coming up to 40 and wanting to do something different. Not sure what, then realised it didn't actually matter. As long as I do *something* new, it's going to be Good!
This entry was posted in New thing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 10 of 40 – keeping it under wraps. Or not.

  1. karlosf2013 says:

    Well done you. I would definitely class this as art. It takes a lot of courage to do something like that. It’s good that you would do it again and most of all, you had fun. Congratulations.

    • Not quite 40 says:

      Oh yes, it is definitely Art. We were debating things like the pile of bricks – is it art when the concept is the thing, rather than the thing itself? Is it art when Damien Hurst designs a studded skull but gets someone else to actually do it? (as did Michelangelo and many other ‘Masters’) And what about a quilt? Is it Art if it is functional? What happens if you hang it on the wall?

      Not had free flowing intellectual conversation like that in a very long time.

      And yes, it took courage. I have been the other side of the easel before, though, so I know artists look at the curves, the shadows, the colours and not the person. It did amuse me that the artist was embarrassed about me looking at HIM.

      What about you? What are you going to get up to?!

  2. Pingback: Getting naked changed my life. Sort of. | 40inmy40th

  3. kerbey says:

    Wow–you are reminding me of when I was an art major in college, and we had to draw nude figures during two hour classes. One man had a long Rip Van Winkle beard and must have been a hobo who wandered in. Another woman was probably around 45, which seemed ANCIENT at the time, and she was very fleshy and wore heartshaped red glasses like Sally Jesse Rafael. I could not imagine having the courage to pose then (or now). All this to say–they may still remember you 22 years later like I do. Ha. Good for you!

    • Not quite 40 says:

      It’s funny, but having done life drawing myself, I know that I only focussed on the shadows, planes and colours – rather than the nakedness of the person. So once I had actually dropped the robe, I got over it – as you can read!

      Although I never thought of the artists remembering me 22 years later!

  4. Good for you! Life is to be enjoyed and trying new things is right up there.

Leave a Reply

