9 of 40 – Spa Day with Mother-in-law

Lots of new things in here, but also lots of things that weren’t new.  I wasn’t sure whether or not to count it, as it wasn’t designed to be one of my ‘New Things’ – especially when I realised it would be number 9 already. I mean, that’s a quarter of the way through already and it’s only February. I would hate to run out of ’40’ before I ran out of year.  I’m enjoying thinking about, planning, and even doing my New Things. Most of them at least.

And then I realised – it’s my life, and my choice. So if I want to do New Thing number 41 of 40, I can.

So, here is number 9, with the New Things all wrapped up in it – a spa day (as opposed to just a treatment), a day out with Mother-in-Law (for whom it was ALL new, and she did very well indeed overcoming her nervousness) and Shellac nail polish (hard wearing, very glossy and lovely looking. Needs to be put on very carefully as it will blob and run; as can be seen on most of my nails if I look closely.  Would have it done again perhaps, but maybe by someone else)

articleimgThe main one, although quite mini, was the open air hot tub.  It was a cold, damp, drizzly kind of day and the thought of going outside did not appeal.  I’m not into Jacuzzis and suchlike anyway, much preferring a sauna.  However, the staff encouraged me to go, saying that it was truly lovely and that they had had ladies using it in snow.

The only thing that persuaded me to go outside and try it was the thought that this was my year of trying New Things, so I should just get on and try it.

If I hadn’t, I wouldn’t have known the bliss of sinking into the amazingly hot water and looking out across the valley. It was so awesome I sent for Mother-in-Law, who – bless her – trusted me enough to come outside and try it too. (Although that is a pic from the spa’s website, and NOT us)

Trying New Things is about overcoming preconceived ideas. And the first step in that is realising when we have them.  Such a little thing – using an outdoors hot tub – and yet it made me realise how many preconceptions must be floating round my brain.  What else might I have missed out on in the past? I don’t know, and I don’t plan on missing out any more.

About Not quite 40

Mother of 1, wife for 15 years, coming up to 40 and wanting to do something different. Not sure what, then realised it didn't actually matter. As long as I do *something* new, it's going to be Good!
This entry was posted in Day off, New thing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 9 of 40 – Spa Day with Mother-in-law

  1. karlosf2013 says:

    Good to see other people doing something similar. I’ve not searched Word Press yet for other blogs but I bet there are loads! From your very last comment, I think we are heading for the same end result. It will be interesting to find out if this is the case. I’m now following your blog and wish you good luck with your 40th year.

Leave a Reply

