What should be on the list?

One of the lists I started was ’40 new things.’ I wanted to break out of the rut I have been in for so long. I work at my husband’s (small) business and there is always a lot going on there – new clients to find, new clients to visit, existing clients to keep up with, new contracts to find, to opportunities to explore. Across the UK. Usually in different directions to each other.

And a five year old son to keep up with – he is fabulous and brilliant and I love him to bits – my little cherub! He gets great comments from his teachers about how bright he is, and how he is able to put together all sorts of ideas and questions. And that means he just never stops. We have shorthand in our house for when we reel into a room looking shell-shocked, that we’ve been ‘Cherub-ed.’ And he doesn’t sleep all that well, or all that long. Unless he is in our bed, usually on top of me. So the times I say no to him are far more than I would like, usually due to sheer exhaustion on my part.

So juggling childcare can be fun. Usually one or other of us takes time from the business to have a day with Cherub. And it’s usually a Good Day, but it is never a Day Off.

Plus the usual things of life – a chimney that needs replacing, a washing machine on its last legs, an insurance company to challenge regarding payouts, a car to be sold (it’s gone now), Sunday School to prepare, PTA meetings, birthday parties to ferry churub to etc etc. Husband and I have to compare diaries every Sunday to make sure we know where the other one is the following night. And who is in for dinner. And who needs picking up from where (until today we only had one reliable car. Today we put down a deposit for the first second car we’ve had for a very long time. Yeah.)

So, the 40 new things. And 40 days off. What to do? What to try? Where to go?

I started asking round. And got a few ideas. Some I liked, some I didn’t like so much. Some I had already done before, which made me think I hadn’t lived such a boring life after all.

But the main thing was to start me thinking differently, to spend more time living, rather than just existing (and comparing diaries)

So I started small. I did my hair differently. I painted my fingernails peacock blue and paired them with peacock feather earrings. I got a radical makeover at the MAC counter (as I passed through the airport on a business trip – a girl’s gotta squeeze these moments in where she can. Not everything can be all-involving.)

And it felt good.

I made a cake, with a chocolate heart shaped baked into the middle of it. I went to the Clandestine Cake Club, and I went on a trip up the river on a (small) tall ship.

IMAG0767

IMAG0764

What is next? I don’t know but I’ll keep you posted.

About Not quite 40

Mother of 1, wife for 15 years, coming up to 40 and wanting to do something different. Not sure what, then realised it didn't actually matter. As long as I do *something* new, it's going to be Good!
This entry was posted in New thing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What should be on the list?

  1. Pingback: Getting naked changed my life. Sort of. | 40inmy40th

Leave a Reply

